Japan eSIM prices, November 2026: what 1 GB actually costs
Last checked: November 5, 2026. USD list prices on each seller's own website, before promo codes. shibaSIM is one of the sellers compared (disclosure below).
A 20 GB / 30-day Japan eSIM costs between $11.09 and $25.00 across the 4 sellers we checked, or $0.55 to $1.25 per GB. Small plans cost far more per GB: a 1 GB plan runs $2.39 to $4.00.
Fixed-data plans: price and price per GB (30 days)
| Seller | 5 GB | 10 GB | 20 GB | 50 GB | Networks listed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| shibaSIM | $4.49 ($0.90/GB) | $6.39 ($0.64/GB) | $11.09 ($0.55/GB) | $23.09 ($0.46/GB) | See live plan details |
| Nomad | $10.00 ($2.00/GB) | $16.00 on sale, $18.00 regular ($1.60/GB) | $23.00 on sale, $26.00 regular ($1.15/GB) | $35.00 ($0.70/GB) | KDDI au, SoftBank |
| Airalo (Moshi Moshi) | $11.00 ($2.20/GB) | $18.00 ($1.80/GB) | $25.00 ($1.25/GB) | not offered | SoftBank + 2 others |
| Saily | $10.99 ($2.20/GB) | $17.99 ($1.80/GB) | $24.99 ($1.25/GB) | not offered | KDDI, SoftBank |
| Ubigi | not checked | not checked | not checked | $55.00 ($1.10/GB) | KDDI, NTT Docomo, SoftBank |
| Holafly | not checked | not checked | not checked | not checked | KDDI, SoftBank |
Smallest 1 GB plans: shibaSIM: $2.39 for 7 days; Nomad: $4.00 for 7 days; Airalo (Moshi Moshi): $4.00 for 3 days; Saily: $3.99 for 7 days; Ubigi: not checked; Holafly: not checked.
"Unlimited" plans for 7 days: compare the limits, not the label
| Seller | Price | Stated limit | After the limit or hotspot note |
|---|---|---|---|
| shibaSIM | $4.39 | 1 GB per day | |
| shibaSIM | $6.49 | 2 GB per day | |
| shibaSIM | $8.09 | 3 GB per day | |
| Nomad | $25.00 | not stated on plan page | hotspot supported |
| Airalo (Moshi Moshi) | $26.50 | not stated on plan page | not stated |
| Saily | 15 days: $48.99 | 5 GB per day | 1 Mbps |
| Ubigi | $25.00 | 25 GB for the plan | 2 Mbps |
| Holafly | $27.50 | none stated (temporary fair-use slowdown possible) | hotspot 1 GB per day |
Most "unlimited" plans still have a limit somewhere: a daily cap, a plan cap, or a hotspot cap. For maps, LINE/WhatsApp and photos, 1 GB per day is usually enough; for streaming or a laptop hotspot, look at the cap before the price.
Methodology and disclosure
- Japan-only plans, USD, list price shown on the seller's own site on the date above, before discount codes, taxes or card currency fees. Sale prices are shown with the regular price.
- Price per GB = price ÷ GB, rounded to the cent. Unlimited plans are compared per 7 days with their stated limits.
- Re-checked in the first week of every month; changes go into the history table below.
- Disclosure: shibaSIM sells Japan eSIMs. Our prices come from our live catalog; competitor prices were checked by hand. Spot an outdated price? Email [email protected] and we will correct it.
Price history (20 GB / 30 days)
| Checked | shibaSIM | Nomad | Airalo (Moshi Moshi) | Saily |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-11-05 | $11.09 | $23.00 | $25.00 | $24.99 |
Frequently asked questions
How much does a 20 GB Japan eSIM cost?
Among the 4 sellers with a checked 20 GB option, prices run from $11.09 to $25.00 for at least 30 days.
Which checked 20 GB Japan eSIM is cheapest?
shibaSIM is cheapest in this comparison at $11.09, or $0.55 per GB.
How much does a small Japan eSIM cost?
The checked 1 GB plans cost $2.39 to $4.00, depending on seller and validity.
Sources
Prices checked November 5, 2026.
- https://www.nomadesim.com/en/japan-eSIM
- https://www.airalo.com/japan-esim
- https://saily.com/ja/esim-japan/
- https://cellulardata.ubigi.com/rates-and-coverage/japan-data-plans/japan-50gb-30-days/
- https://cellulardata.ubigi.com/rates-and-coverage/japan-data-plans/japan-unlimited-7-days/
- https://esim.holafly.com/esim-japan/